Friday Round-Up

April 23, 2010 at 2:15 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Because it’s Friday and I can be random if I want to.

First up – my free megabus tickets!  When I last rode the bus, it was over a half hour late on both of my trips.  As I was standing in line outside Union Station, I met a girl who was stuck in the same boat (or rather, on the same sidewalk).  As we commiserated over our late bus, she informed me of a super secret phone number that you can call when your bus is late and the operators will give you free tickets for another trip.  She said she had gotten the number from another bus rider on a previous trip, because it’s not something megabus likes to advertise or announce.  I didn’t believe her, since it seemed too good to be true, but I took the number anyway.  And…it worked! I don’t want to post the number here because I would hate for the megabus gods to get angry and take it away (but if you want it, let me know).  I managed to book a trip for next weekend and I saved over $60!  When I spoke with the operator, all I had to do was tell her when my late trips occurred and where I wanted to go next.  She even stayed on the phone with me until my confirmation email arrived.  Amazing, huh?  It’s even more amazing because now I’ll never be upset again if a bus is late.  Well…I might be upset but I’ll be placated by the knowledge that I’ll eventually get another free ride.  I love free.

In other news (and all over the news) is the big hullabaloo with the volcano in Iceland.  The eruption of Eyjafjallajokull (pronounced AY-yah-fyah-lah-YOH-kuul, for all the non-Icelandic speaking people out there) caused airspace over Europe to come to a complete halt for days.  It’s estimated that the airline industry lost nearly $2 billion because of this.  Lots of people have stories about how this has affected them and I know of at least one person who did not have a full bridal party because someone was stuck in London.  The worst of the ash and smoke seems to be over now but people are getting concerned that Katla, another nearby volcano, will erupt soon.  Apparently in all of the historical records available, every time Eyjafjallajokull has erupted Katla has not been far behind.  Obviously that would create more flying problems, not to mention another slew of headaches.  So for now, everyone is just watching and waiting.

As annoying as this whole thing has been for some, it’s produced some amazing photographs.  Here is a link to some of the more mind-blowing photos out there of this whole event.

Moving on.

Have you ever heard a word, phrase or idea and then almost immediately encountered it again someplace else?  It’s something that’s happened to me more than a few times.  Apparently this is called the Baader-Meinhof Phenomenon (not to be confused with the ’08 German film about a West German militant group).  Actually, last night a friend of mine and I were talking about this because she had emailed me about a movie she thought I would like and later that afternoon I read a reference to it in the paper.  We were trying to come up with the name of the phenomenon but couldn’t think of it.  This morning, I was surfing a community forum type website I enjoy and someone had posted a question wondering what the term was when that type of thing happened.  So I learned about it, the day after I was wondering about it.  That’s an example of the phenomenon right there!  I’m not even positive this is making any sense but I thought it was…well, damn interesting.  Check out the link to see if you agree.  Then have a great weekend!

1 Comment

  1. Debbie said,

    The photos of the volcano are awesome. I didn’t realize there is lightening along with the ash & lava.

Leave a Reply

