Best Weekend Ever

April 19, 2010 at 2:44 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I know I’m lucky.  Everything in my life seems to coming together rather nicely right now and I’m doing my best to simply enjoy it and not take anything for granted, because I know how quickly things can change.  That being said, I just wrapped up the best possible weekend I could hope to ask for, and of course I’m going to talk a little about it here.

It all started with the arrival of mi madre, who came to town for her birthday.  She immediately started telling me how the lighting in my apartment is insufficient and how my plants are all looking sickly, and then she took me out to buy me a brand new lamp and some new flora.  She also brought me some wine, lots of food and all of the Christmas and birthday presents that have been sitting at her house because I never have enough room to take them on the bus.  So, it was like Christmas and my birthday all over again, and I got some cool new stuff for my place!

Saturday, we ventured downtown to check out the Field Museum (yes, I know I practically live there).  Mom had never been there before and I seriously loved showing her my favorite exhibits (even if she was sad that all of the animals had to die in order for us to see their bones – next time I’m taking her to the zoo).  We also checked out the new exhibit there, Mammoths and Mastodons.  I was impressed.  It features Lyuba, seen here.  She’s a month old baby mammoth that was extremely well-preserved when she died.  In fact, she’s the best preserved mammoth specimen found to date.  She was unearthed in Siberia by some farmers and scientists have been salivating at her rare condition ever since.  As you can see, her skin sort of dried up and shrank but never fully decomposed (apologies for the crappy phone picture – you can google her if you want to see her better).  There are actually little bits of tuft and hair still on her legs.  And look at her trunk!  Freaking awesome.  It was incredible to check her out and learn more about her preservation process.  If you get the chance in the next couple of months, I highly suggest stopping by this exhibit.

After the Field Museum, mom and I grabbed hot dogs at a vendor by the lake (yes, mine was vegetarian).  It was a gorgeous day to sit and watch people mill around and it made me glad once again that I live in this city.

On Sunday, I took Mom to that fantastic brunch spot, Chief ONeills.  We had our fill of breakfast deliciousness and then rolled our way to her car to go do some grocery shopping.  I forget how easy it is to do errands with the use of a vehicle – I managed to go to the library, bank and two grocery stores in about 1/4 of the time it would normally take me using my feet or public transit.  As nice as it was, I still love living sans car.

I also got to introduce Mom to some of the people I’ve been hanging out with since I moved to the city.  She especially enjoyed this, as it makes her feel better to know her little girl isn’t all alone and that there are people out there who would perhaps worry about my well-being if I seemed to disappear off the face of the planet.  She’s such a mom.  I have met some great people though and it was pretty cool that they didn’t mind meeting the prettier of my parental units.  We even got treated to a very nice dinner at Tarantinos, where I had the absolute best butternut squash I’ve ever had.  Yum.  The Flirtini wasn’t bad either!

As great as all of this was, something else happened this weekend that made my day.  Actually, it made my entire year.

You may or may not remember the friend I’ve talked about who has been battling a drug addiction for quite some time.  This girl was my BFF for more than a decade and I’ve never had a friend as good as she.  She fell into a bad way years ago and we haven’t spoken much since.  Everything I had heard indicated she was in a very bad place, making very bad decisions.  She’s tried rehab before but wasn’t able to make it work. If you’ve ever had a loved one deal with an addiction, my heart goes out to you because it’s incredibly difficult and something I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy.  Anyway, I think about my friend constantly and probably mentioned her in passing to my mom three times this weekend, even though it’s been six months since we last spoke and that was a just a brief chat.  She hasn’t been the girl I knew in better than four years.

ANYWAY – she called me on Sunday!!  I started shaking as soon as I saw the number because I didn’t know what it would mean.  Well, apparently she’s been in some sort of rehab boot camp and has been clean for 50 days.  Fifty days.  I know that every day is a challenge for an addict but this is SUCH a step in the right direction.  Man, I’m tearing up as I write this.  I’m not ashamed to admit I bawled like a baby when we hung up the phone.  I’ve worried about her so much (like I said, things got pretty bad) and I actually had a nightmare not even two weeks ago which centered around my worst fear ever.  I’m so, SO glad that the phone call I received had nothing to do with that.

Her treatment is very intense and she only has a few hours on Sunday where she can leave or use a phone, but she got my address so she can begin to write.  She asked if I would write back (of course I will).  I can’t begin to describe how all of this makes me feel.  She told me that she was finally ready to stay clean, and that’s not something I’d ever heard from her before.  I’m going to stop now because I fear my face will start to leak, but this is something I’ve been hoping for for years and I could not be happier.

As I mentioned, I know how lucky I am.  Everything seems to be falling into place and while I know this feeling probably won’t last long, I intend to revel in it while I can.  I hope all of you out there are able to come up with some things you’re thankful for today as well!

Leave a Reply

