FAST Friday Round Up

April 16, 2010 at 2:18 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


This is going to be a quick one – Friday’s seem to be the day to dump on the good ‘ol Office Manager around here, and today is no exception.  At least it’s almost the weekend!

Here’s a speedy WTF for you from this week – the KFC Double Down.  This “sandwich” is the apparent brainchild of obese America.  Seriously, I’m not sure how this can even qualify as a meal. Cheese, sauce and bacon wrapped up and slapped between two pieces of fried chicken?  Yeah, heart attack much?  This thing has roughly the same fat, salt and calorie totals as THREE McDonald’s Big Macs.  And we wonder why other countries hate us.

I know I’m a vegetarian and all but I like to think that even if I wasn’t this would be a complete turn off to me.  Just…gross.  Although – if any of you out there are brave enough to try one of these, please let me know how it is.  Morbid curiosity and all.

Okay, moving on to something a bit more positive – new mandates coming from the White House.  I know not everyone agrees with what our president is up to these days (I myself am not too happy with his additional offshore drilling plans) but he unveiled something this week that put a smile on my face and warmed the cackles of my heart.  Within the next few months, any hospital that receives Medicare or Medicaid will be required to give same sex partners the same rights as they would any heterosexual partnership.  This means that pretty soon, same-sex partners will be allowed to have the same visitation and decision making rights as everyone else.  This is HUGE.  Imagine not being able to sit with the man or woman you’ve loved for years as they are ill, or worse, on their deathbed.  Pretty soon, gays and lesbians will be able to have input on the medical matters of their loved ones, and simply be able to hang around as they receive care.  I think this is a basic right that should be given to anyone in a committed relationship and I’m so glad that the White House finally agrees.  Thanks, Mr. President!

Last but not least – an interesting story coming out of Oklahoma.  There’s a Catholic Church there that has a ten foot tall crucifix hanging above the main altar.  This in itself is not so strange, but the depiction of Jesus on the cross is causing an uproar.  Apparently, the artist decided to try to highlight the distended abdominal muscles of Jesus and in doing so, came up with something that looks…well, rather phallic.  I’m not going to post the actual picture, because there might be small children or elderly people around when you’re browsing this blog.  If you’d like to check it out for yourself, simply click here.  And don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Some parishioners have gotten so offended that they up and left that church.  Others say they don’t see anything out of the ordinary and can’t understand what the fuss is about.  What do you think?

Okay, that’s all, folks!  My wonderful mother is coming in town this weekend to celebrate her birthday so we’ve got big plans – I hope your weekend is swell as well!

1 Comment

  1. 2ordinary said,

    That…looks like heaven. I think that is going to be my first meal in May.

Leave a Reply

