Have Clinic, Will Travel

April 14, 2010 at 2:20 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


I’m going to do a little unsolicited promoting today, simply because I had a good experience somewhere yesterday and I want to share.  Who knows, this could even help you in the future!

I left work an hour early yesterday to go to the Take Care Clinic at a downtown Walgreens.  I’m still battling this blasted cough and I figured I should maybe get it checked out, since it’s been around for a couple of weeks and I’m normally fairly healthy.  I wish there was a clinic closer to my apartment, as it took forever and a day to get out there, but I’m glad I went.  The whole thing was incredibly easy.  I walked into the little clinic portion of Walgreens, used a touch screen computer to fill out my basic information and reason for coming in (granted, this part may not be easy if you’re one of those older folks who gets scared by computers) and then had a seat.  I was speaking with the nurse practitioner in less than 20 minutes, and she was an extremely nice lady who obviously knew what she was doing.  I neglected to tell her about how my mom doped me up over Easter weekend and instead focused on how I’ve been trying to self-medicate since.  To be honest, I haven’t done much besides drinking lots of tea, eating massive amounts of soup and watching my diet.  I’m just not a fan of taking medicine.

Well, it looks like I’m going to have to get over that.  Thankfully I don’t have anything serious like pneumonia, but I was placed on an antibiotic for the next week.  I was also given a nose spray for my sinus-like infection and it kind of freaks me out.  Stuff like that automatically makes my eyes water and my entire body tense up.  The nurse first suggested I use a neti pot but those things really freak me out.  I know, I know…I’ve heard that they work wonders and that my life will never be the same once I start inhaling water from a ceramic or tin can, but I can’t bring myself to do it.  Hell, just doing the google image search made me fairly uncomfortable.  I’ve done many things in my life, but I won’t do neti.

Anyway, the nurse talked to me for a while and gave me some other pro tips on how to get myself feeling normal again.  Then she called in my prescriptions and within another ten minutes, I was good to go.  The clinic takes insurance, which is nice, and the entire experience was so much quicker and easier than making an appointment with my regular doctor (I’d be waiting for weeks to get in there).  So, if you’re in need of a check up and are around one of these clinics, I recommend you go check it out.  And if you wind up with a neti pot – well, you’re a stronger person than I.

2 Comments

  1. peggy said,

    way to pimp out the walgreens clinics!

  2. webpaige said,

    Thought you would appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

