Dining and Dancing

April 12, 2010 at 2:38 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


Saturday night was quite a night.  A man friend and I had plans to go to a vegetarian restaurant, as he’s in the midst of a month-long bet that prohibits him from eating meat.  As I’ve been a vegetarian for many moons, I wanted to take him someplace where he could still get a great meal.  Sadly, the place I had in mind was crowded beyond belief.  We just hit the pavement at that point and wound up at Nookies, Too, which in the general vicinity of Boystown (for those of you who don’t know, Boystown is the hot spot for all the hot gays).  I had a veggie burger with tons of avacado, salsa and pepperjack cheese, and it was heavenly.  Seriously, it was the best veggie burger I’ve had in a while, and I like me some veggie burgers.  It came with an order of fries, which were a little less crispy than I would’ve liked, but you know me…I ate them anyway.

After our meal, we decided to stop for a drink.  We went to a place called Cocktail (yup, still in Boystown) and the bar wasn’t very crowded so we managed to get a table.  Over the course of the next hour, the entire place filled up and before long we figured out why – dudes in tight white underwear (and nothing else) began dancing on stage around 10:30.  Let me just say now that I love gay strippers.  I was one of perhaps 6 females in the entire bar and the dancing guys seemed to like me.  At one point, I felt someone playing with my hair and stroking my neck.  I wasn’t too sure what was going on and when I turned around I realized it was two of the dancers.  They told me how gorgeous I was and proceeded to give me a little personal dance of my own.  What lady wouldn’t love that?  I got quite the kick out of it, as you can probably imagine.

My friend is comfortable enough with his masculinity that the prancing, almost naked dudes didn’t phase him.  We actually ended up meeting a couple of guys who were from St. Louis and just visiting Chicago (and the dance clubs) for the weekend.  We talked for a bit and then the four of us migrated to Roscoe’s Tavern for some dancing time.  We cut a rug for quite a while and it was great – it had been way too long since I shook my groove thang!

Sunday was spent having brunch at Johns Place, one of two eateries owned by…a guy named John (I am now a pro at link insertion, by the way).  I actually met John while I was indulging in banana and chocolate chip pancakes (the pancakes are named after his son, whom I also met).  John is a super friendly guy and we chatted a while.  I told him I would write up a positive review on my little ‘ol blog, and here we are.  The food was great and the mimosas were awesome.  I think I’ve mentioned this once or twice before, but I love Sunday Brunches.

It’s the little things in life, right?

Leave a Reply

