Sick Sucks

April 6, 2010 at 1:45 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Yup, I’m still sick.  If this doesn’t teach me the karmic ramifications of opening my big fat mouth and bragging about my excellent health, nothing will.

All weekend long I felt like this poor kid.  I probably acted like her too, as apparently I revert to my childhood when I’m feeling under the weather.  Luckily, I was with my mom all weekend and everyone knows that a good mother is the best cold remedy (though I’m not convinced I’m suffering from a mere cold.  I think it’s more a sinus/allergy/cold/black plague hybrid).  Anyway, she did what she could to help me feel better, though she inadvertently overdosed me in the process.

Really?  An overdose?  Well, just about.  Sunday was Easter and I woke up feeling sicker than I had all weekend.  Mom gave me two little pills and told me to take them – I didn’t question her, as she’s my mother, and down they went.  I don’t take medication often but figured if it would help me stay alert and feeling relatively human for our family festivities, it couldn’t hurt.  About four hours later, as I sat next to my sister, I mentioned that I must really be sick because I could barely keep my eyes open.  That’s when she informed me that my lovely mother had given me two Benadryl (I had been told it was Sudafed).  Now, apparently Benadryl hypes my mom up and so she didn’t think twice about giving it to me in the early afternoon hours.  Well, for me and 99.9% of the rest of the world, Benadryl is as good as a heavy sleeping pill.  ONE will usually knock me out, so it’s no surprise that two made me feel incredibly loopy as I struggled to stay awake and enjoy family time.  I mentioned this to Mom, who felt bad enough to try to find me some more medicine.  She came back with a bottle of Tylenol throat spray to help with my coughing.  I took one look at the bottle, took one look at her, and pointed to where it said Nighttime.  For the rest of the day, while I tried to stay coherent, I got to hear jokes about how my own mother was trying to off me.

In the end though, I’m glad I was around her all weekend.  I still feel sickly but she did help a lot, when she wasn’t trying to drug me senseless.  So, thanks Mom!

What else happened this weekend?  Well, I spent much of my time sleeping.  I also dyed four dozen Easter eggs for my grandma, and caught my grandpa watching some tween show on the Disney channel, as well as the Gene Simmons reality show, Family Jewels.  I didn’t even know this show existed until I walked in the den and sat down with my gramps.  I’m not sure if he watches it regularly or not and I didn’t really want to know the answer, so I just sat with him and went with it.  Shocker – the show was not that great.

The rest of the weekend was full of family and not much else.  Honestly, I couldn’t have asked for a better trip home (well, if I had felt halfway decent that would have been cool, but a girl can’t have everything).

In other news – Sallie Mae wrote and thanked me for my email.  They said they would be returning the extra payment they took last week and I should have it back sometime in the next week or so.  I’m assuming that their change in tune had something to do with the angry rant I sent them last week, so I’m pleased.  Sometimes David does beat Goliath!

Also, I found out today that the monthly article I write for the Michiana Entertainer could possibly be on its way to syndication.  Apparently my editor is thinking of starting another magazine for the suburbs of Chicago and he asked my permission to continue to use my pieces.  Um, extra exposure and an extra paycheck?  Yes and yes.  Don’t know when that’s going to happen but I’m looking forward to it!

Speaking of my Michiana Entertainer articles, the one for April is up.  Since I’m getting so darn savvy with this blogging thing, here’s a link:

Spring into Spring

This one marks the first of (probably) many that will feature a photo of yours truly.  Apparently “my fans” wanted to see my picture and so my editor suggested I try to incorporate a funny photo and find a way to tie it to the piece for the month.  I wasn’t sure how it would work but figured I’d give it a shot.  Thoughts?  Suggestions?  I’m not super comfortable taking pictures of myself so this is new territory for me and any input is welcome.

Ok kids, that’s it for today.  Time to go home, get some rest and hopefully kick the remnants of this virus to the curb.

1 Comment

  1. 2ordinary said,

    Kick the sick, we need you feeling better for this weekend.

Leave a Reply

