Adventures in Chiropracting

March 24, 2010 at 2:31 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


It looks as though my visits to the chiropractor are going to become a regular thing.

This is not my neck but it’s a decent representation of what my x-rays looked like.  Apparently, the shot on the left is where my neck is now, while the one on the right shows what it should look like.  I guess the improper curvature of my neck has caused the muscles and tendons to work double time, which is why I’ve had some pinched nerves lately.  According to the Doc, it’s been going on for a while but is just now getting to the point where it’s causing enough pain to limit my movements.

I’ve actually hand neck and shoulder pain for years, but I figured that everyone had a sore back at times and that I should just suck it up.  I can remember when it started – over 10 years ago, when I was working at the local Dairy Queen.  As dumb as this sounds, I always attributed it to the blizzard machine at the DQ.  It was this incredibly high-powered steel blender and I spent about four years during high school using my right hand to mix up those blasted blizzards.  I’ve had back pain ever since.  I’ve had professional massages and many people have expressed surprise at the tension they find.  I honestly thought that it was just something I was going to have to deal with but it seems chiropractic adjustments can help my neck look more like that x-ray on the right, i.e. normal.  If it can help with my pain in my neck (haha) then I am ALL for it.

At the beginning of this last chiropractor visit, the doctor had me lay down on this rolling massaging table, designed to loosen up muscles before the big adjustment.  I wish I had one of these at my apartment.  In the beginning, I almost fell asleep – then the massaging moved up.  My recovering Catholic mentality was slightly surprised and I wondered how one could lay on the table, with the massaging ball moving their hips, and not have impure thoughts.  That’s when I decided I wish I had one to take home with me.

But I digress.

The machine did loosen me up, that’s for sure.  I was a little nervous about the adjusting part, as it becomes more intense with each visit, but it didn’t hurt a bit.  It did feel like my back was able to breathe a bit better, if that makes any sense.  The good doctor told me she could have my spine back in its correct curvature in a mere few months.  I’m sure those months won’t feel so meager to my wallet but I sincerely hope they make a big difference to my back.  I can’t imagine what the world will be like with less shoulder/back pain.  Perhaps I’ll find a new hobby, such as power-lifting or discus.  Maybe even curling.

Or I might just buy one of those massaging tables and decide to never leave my apartment.

The possibilities are endless.

Leave a Reply

