Spring Has Sprung!

March 11, 2010 at 3:57 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


The last two posts have been work related and that’s just gross, so today I’m writing about a more celebratory topic.  Spring is finally here!

Well, almost.  Right now we’re in that sort of yucky in-between stage that resembles this picture.  The snow is melting and the sun is peeking out on occasion, but we’re not there yet.  However, the temperatures are finally warming up.  I know some of you lovely readers a bit further south experienced highs in the 70’s earlier this week, and for that, I hate you.  It hit 60 here yesterday and I felt like I was in the tropics.  I’m not the only one – you can look around the people of Chicago and see that just about everyone is chomping at the bit to welcome in the next season.  Just how can you tell that Spring is so close?  If you know me, it shouldn’t shock you that I’ve come up with a list.

1.  The layers have lessened.

This is the first week out of the last…oh, say twelve, that I haven’t had to wear thermal underwear, two pairs of socks, a scarf, gloves, hat and heavy winter coat in order to leave my apartment.  I’ve noticed others have held back a bit with the full winter gear as well.  For instance, there’s a guy on my train I see almost every day (he’s not one of my train buddies though).  He always wears a wool hat.  I’ve never actually seen his hair and have pictured it as being blond for about four months (not that I spend an extreme amount of time thinking about this guy’s hair.  Wait, is any bit of time extreme, given I don’t know the fellow?  Oh, nevermind).  Anyway this week he’s been hat-less, and his hair is dark black.  I was slightly surprised.  It’s like I’m seeing entirely different people on the train as the winter duds are left behind.

2.  The joggers are back.

As I walked to the food pantry last night, I was almost ambushed by a slew of people jogging along the sidewalks.  I’d almost forgotten how many people there were in the city who are into that sort of thing.  All winter long it’s only been the hardcore types who have been out (and there haven’t been that many of them).  Well, they’re returning with a vengeance.  I don’t have a problem with joggers and actually admire their will power and endurance, but I will admit that it makes me feel slightly guilty when they run past as I chow down on a burrito.  Oh well, to each their own.

3.  I’m walking more.

I may not be the jogging type (just the thought gives me a stomach cramp) but I do enjoy a nice walk.  I’ve managed to walk home from the train more than a few times this winter but I’ve held off on walking home from the food pantry.  Each trip is about 2 miles but it’s hours later when I get out of the pantry and thus, it’s usually much colder.  Last night, though, I walked home as it was in the fifties.  And it was glorious.  Saturday I managed to walk all the way home from Wrigley Field (it’s really only about 3 miles) but I never would’ve attempted it before this week.

4.  Sunshine!

I’ve only really seen it in the last few weeks but it’s almost impossible to describe how much of a difference it makes.  Waking up while it was pitch black outside, waiting for the train in the dark and having the sun set long before I even got off of work really began to take a toll on my psyche.  I know I’m not alone.  It’s just so much more difficult to get motivated when every hour of daylight is spent behind a desk.  Also, when the sun goes down at 4pm it becomes harder to…well, enjoy life in general.  I’m so glad that the sun is back to rising when I do and sticking around long enough for me to enjoy a bit of it during my commute home.  I actually had the need for sunglasses last week and spent a good deal of time trying to track them down.  It’s not like I’ve had much of a use for them for the last few months.

5.  The Snow is FINALLY Gone

At least, for now.  I know how foolish it would be to assume that it’s gone for good, because the minute I get my hopes up for such a thing is the minute the heavens will open up and drop another foot of the white stuff at my front door.  However, right now, at this exact moment in time, it seems to be over.  Most of the snow covering the grounds and parking lots has melted and many of the large mounds created by plows are withering as well.  That makes everything soggy and damp but I would much rather that than icy and frozen.  And – not to further jinx myself – it would appear that I made it all winter long without slipping and busting my ass.  There’s always time for that to change but I’m quite proud of my record thus far.

All in all, I’m as excited for the weather to warm up as a little kid would be to spend the night alone in a candy shop.  There’s an extra bounce in my step and I danced along the sidewalk on my entire walk home last night.  In fact, I’m already planning the dance party that will take place in my living room tonight – it involves me and my record player, and it will be fantastic.  Bring on the spring, bring on the funk!

Leave a Reply

