Internet Down

March 10, 2010 at 3:44 pm (Uncategorized) (, )


It’s sad how much we rely on the internet.  An important piece hooked to the fiber of our connection (or something like that) broke overnight and our entire center was sans internet for the first 7 hours of my workday today.  Besides the obvious lack of office email, this meant I was unable to get into the corporate system that basically allows me to do every part of my job.  No scheduling or invoicing could be done, no reports could be run – hell, I couldn’t even call any clients with business because all of their numbers are in our system.  At least everyone else had a project or something to fiddle with, but I had nothing (and they didn’t need help.  I asked, desperate for something to occupy my time).  My boss came in only to go right back home to use the internet there, but I was not so lucky.  So what did I do with my work-free morning?  Well, I was bored out of my mind, I’ll tell you that.

I watched some of Monsters Inc., some of The Care Bear Movie (these are what happened to be playing in the kids break room), read some of my book, did a little yoga in my office, played a word search game on my cell phone and worked on my column for next month.  It’s actually sort of appalling how little *actual* work can get done when the internet goes down.  Earlier this week, we lost power in our office for about two hours (it’s been a crazy few days around here).  That wasn’t so bad, because at least it felt acceptable to do nothing.  However, when the lights are on and the phones are working it becomes much more difficult to feel okay about not getting anything accomplished.  Even if, in all actuality, there is nothing you can do.

When did we become so dependant on computers?  I know it’s been within my short lifetime.  I remember doing research at the library (using card catalogues gasp) but somewhere around the time I went to college such things became obsolete.  I utilized “the stacks” on my university campus enough times but to be honest, most research could be done searching online journals.  And now, just about every single thing I do in a given workday involves being wired.  It’s kind of crazy, very obnoxious and mostly frustrating.  Human beings did not evolve to sit in a chair.

We’re all back online now (otherwise this post wouldn’t have been written).  It’s odd how naked I felt in the short amount of time that my computer was rendered useless.  I don’t really like that.  Perhaps one day I’ll have a job that doesn’t involve me staring at a screen all day, every day.  Maybe one that will allow me to document and organize ancient artifacts, while standing or walking around.  Hear that, Field Museum?

Leave a Reply

