Brunching in Style

March 2, 2010 at 3:23 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


I realize that many of my posts are about food, which is expected since I love to eat.  Today will be all about food as well, as I think it’s high time to talk about a little meal I’ve come to know and love – Sunday brunch.

I should preface this by saying that I sometimes feel I have an abnormal fondness for breakfast food.  I eat cereal for dinner at least once a week and if I had regular dinner guests you can bet that Belgian waffles or French Toast would be in frequent rotation.  So my opinions on this whole brunch thing may be slightly skewed, but if you have any taste buds whatsoever then I’m sure you’ll at least understand where I’m coming from.

There are many, many places around the city that serve up all-you-can-eat, breakfast-themed meals once a week (though some do this more often, I’ve noticed the Sunday thing is a bigger draw), but today I’ll only be discussing two of them.  The first one is Mystic Celt, where I spent some time this past Sunday.  The food pantry I volunteer at had a Volunteer Appreciation Brunch there and I am so glad that I forced myself to shower and get out of the apartment at a relatively early (for me, at least) hour.  The event featured the usual brunch-type fare: muffins, croissants, bagels, pancakes, fruit, fried veggies (zucchini, squash and asparagus, all personal faves), fried potatoes, pastas, casseroles, a create your own omelette station and much more.  I arrived with enough time to grab two platefulls, so I was pretty excited.  It was even better because I didn’t have to pay for it.  Free food doesn’t have calories, right?  Right.  They had drink specials as well but I didn’t want to look like the only lush among a bunch of do-gooding volunteers, so I refrained (though the mimosas did look tasty).  The restaurant itself is fairly large and our group had an entire room in the back all to ourselves.  The atmosphere felt like…well, an Irish pub.  Lots of shamrocks and green, you get the idea.

However, it didn’t hold a candle to the next place I’m going to talk up, Chief O’Neill’s Pub.  I don’t know what it is with the Irish Pubs and decadent breakfasts, but I’m not complaining.  As for this place,  I should admit I’m likely biased as it’s located a handy half-block from my apartment.  This means that it’s quick and easy to roll home from the restaurant after eating myself silly.  And trust me, this place makes it easy to overindulge.  I looked for photos of the spread they have but I didn’t come up with anything so you’re just going to have to take my word for it (at least until I can get back there and take photos of my own).  The picture I have included is of their courtyard out back – as you can see it’s a hoppin’ place in warmer weather.

This place has all of the food that Mystic Celt does, plus more, because Chief O’Neill’s also has an amazing array of sweets and goodies.  I’m talking entire tables full of pastries, cakes, cookies, donuts and more.  Oh, and I can’t forget the chocolate fountains.  Yup, one white and one dark, complete with trays of fruit and more cookies that are just begging to be dipped underneath.  The first time I walked in here on a late Sunday morning I thought I had died and gone to diabetic heaven.  I was able to eat all the food and desserts I could manage for the price of $15 – which may seem like a lot, but seeing as how that meal lasted me all day, I thought it was worth it.  They also offer mimosas and bloody mary’s (I can attest the mimosas are fantastic) but those aren’t exactly included in the buffet price.  Because then I would never leave.

I wish I was rich enough to enjoy sinfully large Sunday brunches out every week, but alas I am not.  However, even if I can’t get out and enjoy it as much as I would like, it’s nice to know that these places exist and are there for me when I need them.

I think that Sunday Brunches and I will have a long and beautiful future together.  And if we don’t, I can always go back to Breakfast.

Leave a comment