Chicago Diner Uber Quick Review

February 9, 2010 at 3:36 pm (Uncategorized) (, )


I am super pressed for time today but rather than not posting anything at all, I figured I’d just make a real, real fast one.  Here goes!

I was taken to The Chicago Diner for my birthday Saturday night.  The diner proudly boasts Meat Free Since 1983 and any place that has been catering to us herbivores longer than I’ve been alive is fine by me.  It was small and way crowded, which only helped to convince my date and I that the food would be worth it.  As a side note, the guy I was with isn’t a vegetarian but he seemed to enjoy his dinner just as much as I enjoyed mine.  At least, I hope he did.  And to be honest it would be damn difficult to enjoy a meal as much as I did on that fine evening.  Why is that?  Because I had meatloaf.  Yes, meatloaf.  Or, more accurately, a seitan (wheat gluten) product spiced and shaped to look like meatloaf.  I am well aware this might be turning the stomach’s of some of you out there but I don’t really give a hoot.  It was delicious.  And served with mashed potatoes (AND gravy, something I rarely get these days unless I make it from scratch myself), steamed veggies and cornbread.  Oh man, I’m getting hungry again just thinking about it.

This cake was for dessert.  It may or may not have been vegan and to be honest, I really couldn’t tell one way or the other.  It was so good it was sinful and heavenly all rolled up into one.  Yup, that good.  And it’s no mistake that the picture of the cake is larger than the picture of the diner it was served in – priorities and all.

Told you this post was going to be short.

Leave a Reply

