Members Only

December 2, 2009 at 3:34 pm (Uncategorized) (, )


I know I’ve already written about what a wonderful and fascinating place the Field Museum is, but that won’t stop me from talking it up some more.  If I can’t be slightly redundant in my very own blog, then what’s the point of having it?  As I’ve also previously mentioned, I wanted a membership to said museum for Christmas.  Santa answered my pleas in the form of nice hard cash, given to me by my father for the holiday.  I took Monday off work (gotta recuperate from Fluidz and palm reading somehow) so I grabbed my gal pal who happened to be in town and we made our way to my favorite place.  Yep, the Field.

The benefits of this membership absolutely blew me away, and I felt like Scrooge McDuck leaping into my pile of glorious riches.  My membership includes a free pass to the museum any time I want, a free pass for a friend any time I come, free passes to all of the traveling exhibits, free coat check for me and a guest, 10% off everything at the Corner Bakery in the museum and in the gift shop, a free subscription to In the Field, the museum magazine (and yes, I’m excited about this), use of the research library, invitations to members-only exhibit showings and discounted audio tours.  AND a super cool, very large tote bag that proudly advertises my new found member status.  Seriously, I had no idea all this was included in the membership or I would have gotten one a long time ago.  The current special exhibit is all about diamonds, and you learn everything about the chemical properties of specific diamonds, the history of the diamond trade and how diamonds came to play such a large part in courtship rituals.  This all leads to a giant, armored room that was surrounded by security guards.  This room was full of reasons why diamonds are a girls best friend.

These bracelets are just one of the many amazing pieces currently on display.  Have you ever seen anything like this?  It almost made me pee a little.  It was hard to believe they were all real, that’s how big and shiny everything was.  And this is coming from a girl who has never owned a real diamond and has really had no desire to…but if someone wanted to give me one, I wouldn’t turn it down.  Especially if it came from somewhere in this exhibit.

This necklace?  Also caused things to happen below my belt.

One more picture and then I’ll leave the rest to your imagination.

This thing is the Tiffany Diamond, which is a 128.54 yellow diamond.  It’s even more beautiful in real life, and I can honestly say I’ve never seen anything like it.  You could easily get lost staring into this thing.  I very nearly did.

And this exhibit was free with my membership!  The next exhibit that will come to the Field will be all about mammoths and mastodons, and I cannot even begin to tell you how much I will geek out over that.

It will be epic.

Now that I’ve discussed all the fantastic benefits that come with this membership, I will let you in on a little secret.  It was only $80.  That may seem like a lot at first, but my friend and I did the math and if we had just gone to the museum and paid for admission, the exhibits and the coat check out-of-pocket, it would have come close to $65.  For one day.  I will most definitely get my money’s worth out of this gift, and I’ll probably do so before the end of the month.  I love it when things go my way!

Also, if you ever want to check out this amazing museum that I’m oh so fond of, let me know and we’ll go for FREE!

Leave a Reply

