Growing old and gray…

November 23, 2009 at 12:27 am (Uncategorized) (, , )


…is apparently something I will not be doing.  It’s become all to clear to me over these last few months that I am acquiring more and more WHITE hair.  That’s right, skipping the gray and going straight for the gold…or in this case, white.  In April 2007 I noticed the first strand that was not my natural color – it was a rogue hair light enough to be mistaken for gray.  It was a date that will, for me at least, live in infamy.  Since it was only one hair I chose to pretend it didn’t exist and tried to act slightly bemused by the entire incident.

It didn’t stop.  Since that fateful day I have encountered more and more discolored strands.  I don’t think it’s enough to really notice (at least that’s what the last person I forcefully questioned about this said) and I try to tell myself that it’s all in my head.  However, this morning as I was brushing my teeth I couldn’t help but become mesmerized by how many completely white hairs I seemed to see.  It was like they were invading my scalp.  The closest thing I can compare it to is this:

Okay, I may be embellishing just a tiny bit.  I guess if I actually had to count there are maybe only 5 or 10 of these bad boys floating around my head.

It still feels like a lot.

I know what you’re probably thinking, and yes, I could color my hair.  All the cool kids are doing it.  But this hair has never had unnatural color added to it and I’d sure hate to break that record now.  I dyed my hair for many years, starting by going deep red my sophomore year of high school.  After that came the lovely black, which I did for a school project where I was trying to emulate Cleopatra (I didn’t have a wig and for some reason I thought permanent black hair color would be just as easy).  When I call it lovely I’m being sarcastic, because that color was actually the bane of my existence for many months.  It didn’t take well to the red that was already in it and I ended up looking like my calico cat.  It was hard as hell to get rid of too, and after many attempts I ended up with a somewhat normal looking hair color that was the texture of straw.  I never went back to black but I did continue to color it rather frequently, various shades all up through college.

That was until I cut it all off.  I had always wanted to try a super short haircut but I never had the guts to go for it, and the summer I went to study in South Africa seemed like a perfect opportunity.  I cut off almost 10 inches of hair (yes, I donated it) and I ended up with the shortest haircut of my entire life.  In a rather ironic twist, it was winter in South Africa when I showed up and surprisingly cold.  I had to buy a hat to make up for my lack of hair.  Anyway it’s grown out a whole lot in the last two years but I haven’t colored it since the big cut and I kind of dig the whole au natural look.  So, I just don’t really want to color my hair.

I guess that means I should suck it up and get used to the white.  If it keeps going at this rate, it could actually be noticeable to someone other than myself in the next eight to ten years.  Until then I’ll leave my hair color the way it is and maybe when I’m older I’ll hatch an easily foiled yet still diabolical plot to acquire one hundred and one puppies to turn into coats.  I guess having white hair could have its perks after all.

Leave a Reply

