Friday Round-Up

August 6, 2010 at 2:23 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


Back to the randomness!

The Simpsons get it, even if families is misspelled

In big news, California’s Prop 8 was overturned by U.S. District Judge Vaughn Walker on Wednesday!  Hopefully this means we’re finally on the right track towards marriage equality for everyone.  I know this decision will probably go all the way to the Supreme Court and we’re still facing a long road but this was a victory for everyone who would like to see basic rights given to the homosexual community.  As Judge Walker said,

“Proposition 8 fails to advance any rational basis in singling out gay men and lesbians for denial of a marriage license. Indeed the evidence shows Proposition 8 does nothing more than enshrine in the California constitution the notion that opposite sex couples are superior to same-sex couples.”

Amen to that!  I know that the main case against gay marriage is that it disrupts the sanctity of that institution, but come on.  Straight people can get married in a drive-thru in Vegas and have it annulled the next day but a gay couple who has loved one another and remained devoted for decades cannot take that walk down the aisle?  I’m sure you can gather how I feel about this.  Breeders have been making a mockery out of marriage for years anyway so it’s not like getting hitched is always some revered, respected event.  Case in point:

The woman who found out her husband was already married – through Facebook.  That’s right, she became suspicious that he was cheating and photos online of her hubby (and the father to her two children) clearly showed him in Disneyland getting married to some other woman.  Apparently she learned he was engaged and he promised her he’d break it off, so she didn’t begin divorce proceedings until she realized he went through with the marriage.  Uh, I would think finding out he was engaged to someone else would be a deal-breaker, but that’s just me.  And this obviously proves that all married people value and uphold the vows they took on their wedding day.  Gays would certainly ruin it for everyone else.

In other, totally unrelated news, my visit to the dermatologist was a success.  I was able to finally rid myself of an unsightly mole I’ve had since birth and I got some advice on the whole acne issue.  Apparently, I’m dirty and oily, as are most other humans.  The doc wrote out a prescription for some fancy gel type stuff and I left the office with grand visions of skin with model-like clarity.  Then I got to the pharmacy and was told my insurance wouldn’t pay for the gel and it would run me over $100 out of pocket.

Guess what – my skin doesn’t bother me anymore.  I’ll stick to soap and scrubbing, thank you very much.

Lollapalooza is going on this weekend and I have a couple of house guests to prove it.  This giant music festival in Grant Park is slated to be bigger this year than ever before and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t wish to be down there with my buddies right now instead of here at my desk.  I’m still not sure if I’ll make it out for a day this weekend or not but my heart is with all of you sweaty, gyrating souls down there now.

The last time I went to Lolla, I had literally just returned from my month long research study in South Africa.  As in, I flew from Cape Town to Indianapolis (obviously not a direct flight), was picked up in Indy, rode to Chicago and was in Grant Park the next morning.  That was where I experienced my biggest jet lag/culture shock moment ever.  Standing in downtown Chicago with thousands of concert goers after spending a month with the same group of 9 people while traipsing through the bush in Africa was a bit of a mind-blowing experience.  It was awesome though and while I may not have the same feeling if I go back this weekend, I’m almost guaranteed to have a good time.

I’m also still working on my whole application to the Month at the Museum.  I’ve got two videos to choose from, the essay and application itself are complete and I’ve taken all necessary photos.  My plan is to finish everything tonight and tomorrow and have it mailed on Monday.  I’m still super excited about this chance so continue to send good luck vibes in my direction!  Also – a HUGE thanks is due to my friends who have helped with the videography, photography and editing of this whole thing.  I couldn’t have done any of it without you guys and I’ll be sure to get special visitor’s passes for you if when I win!

Or maybe I should include a photo a day? Nah, I'd never get any work done

Last but not least, this little blog here has seen a dramatic uptick in viewings this week.  WordPress provides a handy stat tracker which shows how many people check out my blog on any given day.  It fluctuates anywhere between 2 or 3 to 20 or 30 daily and I think prior to this week the highest ranking post was my 100th post rap (to the tune of the Fresh Prince theme song…if you missed it, it’s worth checking out).  Wednesday, however, I noticed that over 100 people had clicked on my homepage.  What the?  So I did a little sleuthing and realized it was because of my celeb crush, Joseph Gordon-Levitt.  That oh so hot photo of him I put up earlier this week has brought more people to this site than anything else thus far.  Apparently others out there have been doing some image searches of the guy this week.  Who knew?  So if you’re a new viewer I hope you’ll hang around, even if I can’t promise photos of fine young actors every day.

Happy Friday everyone, may your weekend be long and your drinks be stiff!

1 Comment

  1. Reading Digest: Sports Writing Edition « Dead Homer Society said,

    […] Friday Round-Up – Via Webpaige we find the image at right.  Now, I support most any prejudice you can name, especially the one against hidebound fools who think marriage ought to be the exclusive domain of heterosexuals and people willing to pose as heterosexuals.  I also recognize that the spell checker in Photoshop leaves much to be desired.  But come on, people.  Nothing is worth supporting Zombie Simpsons in any way shape or form, and misspelling eight letter words will not get anyone to take you seriously.  […]

Leave a comment